FIU College of Engineering and Computing

Florida International University - Electrical and Computer Engineering
Main Content
Breadcrumbs

Faculty

Learn More

Malek Adjouadi, Ph.D.

Ware Professor

Research Interests: Brain research with neuroscience applications and assistive technology

Email: adjouadi@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2672

Phone: (305) 348-3019

Kemal Akkaya, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Network Security, Internet of Things, Cyber-Physical Systems Security

Email: kakkaya@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3915

Phone: (305) 348-3017

Elias Alwan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Antennas, RF System, Millimeter-wave, Secure 5G Communication Systems

Email: ealwan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3953

Phone: (305) 348-5424

Wilmer Arellano, Ph.D.

Senior Instructor

Research Interests: Electronic Design, Vehicular Ad Hoc Networks (VANETs), VANET Simulations

Email: arellano@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3834

Phone: (305) 348-4905

Jean H. Andrian, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair

Research Interests: Cybersecurity and Application of Category Theory on Cyber Resiliency

Email: andrianj@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3913

Phone: (305) 348-2115

Ou Bai, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Cyber-Physical Systems with Human-in-the-loop, Sensors and Real-time Sensor Signal Processing and Recognition

Email: obai@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3954

Phone: (305) 348-3704

Armando Barreto, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of the Digital Signals Processing Lab

Research Interests: Digital Signal Processing and Image Processing

Email: barretoa@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3981

Phone: (305) 348-3711

Shekhar Bhansali, Ph.D.

Alcatel-Lucent Professor & Chair

Research Interests: Micro/Nanotechnology with a special interest in Biomedical Sensors

Email: sbhansa@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3984

Phone: (305) 348-4439

Shubhendu Bhardwaj, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Sub-mm-wave, Terahertz Antennas, Modeling-Methods

Email: sbhardwa@fiu.edu

Office: 3910

Phone: (305) 348-5444

Amaury Caballero, Ph.D.

University Lecturer

Research Interests: Electrical Communication, Control Systems, Construction Management

Email: amaury.caballero@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3240

Phone: (305) 348-1950

Mercedes Cabrerizo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Neuroscience and Learning, funded by the Ware Foundation

Research Interests: Signal and Image Processing

Email: cabreriz@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2223

Phone: (305) 348-7053

Hai Deng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Networking Communication, Radar Signal Processing, MIMO Radar and Radar Networks

Email: hdeng@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3956

Phone: (305) 348-0478

Luis Galarza, Ph.D.

Instructor

Research Interests: Image Processing, Signal Processing, System Design

Email: galarzal@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3944

Phone: (305) 348-8464

Stavros V. Georgakopoulos, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Origami Antennas, Wireless Power Transfer, Wearable Antennas

Email: georgako@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3173

Phone: (305) 348-1262

Ahmed Ibrahim, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Wireless Communication and Networking with emphasis on millimeter wave and optical networks

Email: aibrahim@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3144

Phone: (305) 348-7846

Sakhrat Khizroev, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Nanomagnetic/Spintronic Devices for Medicine and Next-Generation Information Processing

Email: khizroev@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3955

Phone: (305) 348-3724

Grover L. Larkins, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: R&D of Cryogenic Communications Systems intended for space-based applications

Email: larkinsg@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3830

Phone: (305) 348-2807

Osama A. Mohammed, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Research & Professor

Research Interests: Solving the smart grid operation and its communication

Email: mohammed@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3983

Phone: (305) 348-3040

Mubarak Mujawar, Ph.D.

Instructor

Research Interests: Nanotechnology, MEMS, Engineering Education

Email: mmujawar@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3942

Phone: (305) 348-2683

Nezih Pala, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director (Ph.D. only)

Research Interests: Integrated Nanotechnology and Biotechnology

Email: npala@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3142

Phone: (305) 348-3016

Alexander Pons, Ph.D.

Instructor

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, IoT, Networking and Embedded Systems

Email: apons@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3145

Phone: (305) 348-7253

Gang Quan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Embedded Systems/Computer Architecture and Microprocessor Design

Email: gaquan@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3911

Phone: (305) 348-2808

Pulugurtha Markondeya Raj, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Electronic and bioelectronic systems, RF/5G Components

Email: mpulugur@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2925

Phone: (305) 348-6950

Gustavo Roig, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Engineering Education, Human Potential Development

Email: roigg@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3265A

Phone: (305) 348-3700

Arif I. Sarwat, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Power + Energy, Data Analytics, Cybersecurity Communications

Email: asarwat@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3913

Phone: (305) 348-4941

Atoussa H. Tehrani, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Research Interests: Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Data Communications

Email: hosseini@fiu.edu

Office: EC 2654

Phone: (305) 348-4943

A. Selcuk Uluagac, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, Security of IoT, Security of Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: auluagac@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3141

Phone: (305) 348-3710

Frank Urban, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Graduate and undergraduate education

Email: urban@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3953

Phone: (305) 348-3705

Yuri Vlasov, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Research Interests: Solid State Physics, MEMS, Sensors, Nanotechnology

Email: vlassovy@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3832

Phone: (305) 348-1056

John Volakis, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Engineering and Computing & Professor

Research Interests: RF/Electromagnetics, Medical Sensing, Antennas & Communications

Email: jvolakis@fiu.edu

Office: Dean's Office

Phone: 305-348-1197

Herman Watson, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Undergraduate Program Director

Research Interests: Embedded Systems, ARM, Biomedical Sensors

Email: hwatson@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3951

Phone: (305) 348-3018

Wujie Wen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Computer Architecture and Microprocessor Design

Email: wwen@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3910

Phone: (305) 348-8017

Kang K. Yen, Ph.D.

Professor, Assistant Provost, Graduate Program Director (M.S. only)

Research Interests: Control Systems and Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: yenk@fiu.edu

Office: EC 3172

Phone: (305) 348-3037